When you’re in a car accident, you have a lot of questions. Our Las Vegas car accident attorneys are here to help. Here are some car accident FAQs from our legal team:
1. Where Do I File a Police Report in Las Vegas?
To file a police report in Las Vegas, you may make a report online. You can also find your local police station and make a report in person. Also, if you call the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department non-emergency number, (702) 828-3111, they can take your information and help you make a report. If you’re in North Las Vegas, you may call the non-emergency number (702) 633-9111 to make a report. If you’re reporting a stolen license plate in North Las Vegas, you must make your report in person.
2. Is Nevada a No-Fault State for Car Accidents?
No, Nevada is not a no-fault state for car accidents. Instead, the person who is responsible for the accident must pay the victims for their losses even if their injuries and losses are minor. Although Nevada has mandatory car insurance, the insurance that drivers have to buy is liability insurance. The mandatory car insurance in Nevada is meant to pay victims for when you’re at fault for an accident. Even though Nevada is an at-fault state for car accidents, you can still buy uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage that compensates you if the at-fault party doesn’t have adequate car insurance.
3. How Long Do You Have to Report a Car Accident in Nevada?
You have 10 days from the date of the accident to report a car accident in Nevada. Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.10 says that you must file an SR-1 Report of Traffic Accident within 10 days of a car accident. You must make the report if anyone is hurt or killed in the crash or if there is apparent damage of $750 or more. But if the police respond to the scene of the accident and make their own report, you don’t have to file a police report.
4. What Is Considered Full Insurance Coverage in Nevada?
In Nevada, full insurance coverage is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury and an additional $50,000 for property damage. You must also have $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in uninsured motorist coverage. Although these are the minimum amounts, you may purchase more than the minimum amounts of insurance. The full insurance amounts in Nevada are only the lowest amount of coverage that you need to drive in the state lawfully.
5. How Long Does an Insurance Company Have to Settle a Claim in Nevada?
An insurance company has 30 days to settle a claim in Nevada. Nevada law 690B.012 gives the insurance company 30 days to complete an investigation. The only exception is if the investigation can’t reasonably be completed within 30 days. If the insurance company acts in bad faith in investigating and paying your claim, the insurance company may be legally liable to you because of the delay in addition to what they owe you for the claim.
6. Do Most Car Accident Cases Go To Court?
No, most car accident cases don’t go to court. Most car accident cases reach a resolution by agreement before the trial date. In some cases, the parties reach a settlement before a formal legal case even begins. Even if a car accident case has a few court hearings, they’re usually just preliminary hearings and not a trial. The evidence-building process and alternative dispute resolution proceedings like mediation facilitate the settlement of the vast majority of car accident cases.
7. What Should You Do After a Car Accident?
After a car accident, you should call 911 if anyone is hurt. If there are no signs of injury, you should call the non-emergency number of your local police department. You should exchange driver’s license and insurance information with the other driver. Take photos of the accident scene, including both vehicles and the larger surrounding scene. Gather names and contact information for witnesses. Report the accident to your insurance as soon as possible.
8. What Should You Not Do After a Car Accident
After a car accident, you should not flee the scene. You shouldn’t admit guilt, say that you’re sorry or guess at anything when you’re not sure of the answer. You shouldn’t decline medical treatment in hopes that your injuries will get better on their own. In addition, you shouldn’t speak to the other party’s insurance company without a lawyer.
9. How Long Do I Have to File a Nevada Car Accident Lawsuit?
You have two years from the date of the car accident to file a Nevada car accident lawsuit. Whether the case involves injury or death, two years is the time limit to file a claim. If the claim is based on a vehicle defect, you have four years from the date of discovering the defect to file your claim.
10. Does Nevada Require Car Insurance?
Yes, Nevada requires car insurance. All drivers on the road must have a minimum amount of car insurance that covers personal injury, property damage, and uninsured motorists. To lawfully be on the road, you must have valid insurance that meets the minimum requirements. You may buy additional coverage in addition to the minimums.
11. What Happens If You Get in an Accident Without a License?
If you get in an accident without a license, the same standards for legal liability apply. Even an unlicensed driver may still receive financial compensation. Driving without a license may be comparative fault, so the amount that the unlicensed driver recovers may be reduced. But the general rule is that the same car accident laws apply when there’s an unlicensed driver involved. The unlicensed driver may face criminal charges for driving without a license.
12. What Are the Nevada Car Accident Laws?
Nevada car accident laws are civil negligence laws. A driver is liable to victims when an accident occurs because the driver is careless on the road. The law is that the responsible driver must compensate the victim for their financial losses plus pay an additional amount to cover pain and suffering.