Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.020 [1] is Nevada’s hit and run law. The law requires drivers to stop their vehicles at the scene of the crash. A driver must remain at the scene of the accident until they exchange information and arrange for medical care for anyone injured. A violation of NRS 484E.020, Nevada’s hit and run law is a misdemeanor if no one is injured. When there is an injury or death because of the accident, a violation of NRS 484E.020 is a felony. Our car accident lawyers explain Nevada’s hit and run laws.

Hit and Run Accident

What Is Nevada’s Hit and Run Law? Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 484E

Nevada’s hit and run laws are found in Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 484E [2]. The laws cover a variety of accidents, including property damage accidents and accidents that involve bodily injury. The laws require drivers to stop at the scene of an accident and exchange information. The exact requirements depend on whether there are injuries in the crash:

Hit and Run Laws for Personal Injury Accidents

After an accident with one or more people injured, you must:

  • Stop your vehicle without impeding traffic more than necessary
  • Provide reasonable assistance to anyone who may be injured; arrange for medical care (call 911, report the accident, and ask for medical services)
  • Give other drivers your name, address, and vehicle registration number
  • Show your driver’s license to the other driver or drivers, if asked
  • Show your license to the police, if asked
  • If a driver is injured and unable to call emergency services, a passenger in the vehicle must make the call

Hit and Run Laws for Property-Damage Accidents

After an accident causing only property damage, you must:

  • Stop your vehicle without impeding traffic more than necessary
  • Move the vehicle out of the traffic roadway
  • Give the other driver your name and vehicle registration number
  • Upon request, show the other driver and the police your driver’s license

Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.030 (NRS 484E.030) Duty to Render Aid and Give Information

Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.030 [3] is the law that requires drivers to exchange information following an accident. All drivers, regardless of fault, must stop their vehicle at the scene of the crash. They must provide their identity and contact information to the other driver, including their address.

If someone is hurt because of the accident, every driver has a legal obligation to arrange for appropriate medical care. Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.030 makes it a crime to fail to render aid and give information after an accident anywhere in the State of Nevada.

Penalties for Nevada Hit and Run

Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.010 [4]; Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.080 [5] state that the penalties for a Nevada hit and run with property damage are:

  • Misdemeanor conviction on your criminal record
  • Up to six months in jail
  • Six demerit points on your license
  • A fine of up to $1,000
  • A traffic record that may impact future employment opportunities
  • For a willful failure to make an accident report, there may be a one-year suspension of your driver’s license

The penalties for a Nevada hit and run causing bodily injury or death are:

  • At least two years in prison and up to 20 years in prison
  • A suspended sentence is not available so prison time must be served
  • Fines of $2,000-$5,000
  • Class B felony conviction
  • License points

Is a Hit and Run a Felony in Nevada?

A hit and run is a felony in Nevada if someone gets hurt or killed in the accident. When a hit and run results in bodily injury or death, it’s a class B felony punishable by up to 20 years in prison. When a hit and run involves only property damage, it’s a misdemeanor. Whether a hit and run is a felony in Nevada depends on whether someone gets injured or killed in the accident.

Hit and Run Laws Las Vegas 2019

The hit and run laws in Las Vegas in 2019 are that a hit and run is a criminal offense. All drivers must call the police and exchange information after an accident. If they fail to meet the requirements under the law, a driver may face misdemeanor or felony charges. Penalties for hit and run laws in Las Vegas in 2019 include possible jail time, license points, license suspension, fines, and restitution.

Hit and Run Laws Las Vegas 2019

A hit and run defense attorney can represent you if you’re facing charges of hit and run. There are many possible defenses to hit and run that may be available to you like a mistake of fact, incapacitation, a lack of bodily injury, and more. A hit and run defense attorney helps you prepare defenses, explore your rights, and ensure that you get the best possible result in your case. Your attorney can appear with you and speak on your behalf at all court appearances.

Does the Nevada Hit and Run Law Apply If I Am Not to Blame for the Accident?

Yes, the Nevada hit and run law applies if you are not to blame for the accident. All drivers must comply with the law to stop and exchange information regardless of who causes the accident. The purpose of the hit and run law is to ensure that all victims receive medical attention and that there’s sufficient information about the drivers to investigate and make insurance claims regarding the crash.

Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.080 – Failure to Report; False Report

Under Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.080, it is a gross misdemeanor to provide false information when making a crash report. Penalties may include up to one year in jail and a fine. To be guilty of a violation of Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.080, the person must have reason to believe that the information is false. A false report can be made in person or by electronic report.

Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.040 and Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.050 – Damage to Unattended Property

Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.040 [6] and 484E.050 [7] require you to take certain measures after you hit a parked car. You must stop and locate the owner of the parked vehicle. If you can’t find the owner, you may attach a notice on their vehicle in a conspicuous place. The notice must have your name and address as well as information for the owner of the vehicle you’re driving, if different. In addition, you must immediately notify the nearest police or the Nevada Highway Patrol.

Las Vegas Hit and Run Attorneys

Do you have questions about Nevada hit and run laws? Our Las Vegas attorneys are standing by to help. Call us today for your free consultation.

Sources

[1] NRS 484E.020

[2] NRS Chapter 484E

[3] NRS 484E.030

[4] NRS 484E.010

[5] NRS 484E.080

[6] NRS 484E.040

[7] NRS 484E.050

Adam S. Kutner

Adam S. Kutner Personal Injury Lawyer

With more than 27 years of experience fighting for victims of personal injury in the Las Vegas valley, Attorney Adam S. Kutner knows his way around the Nevada court system and how to get clients their settlement promptly and trouble-free.