Nevada Revised Statutes 484E is the chapter of Nevada law regarding crashes and reports of crashes. When a person gets in a car accident, they have a legal obligation to report the accident to law enforcement. They must also arrange for medical attention for any injured parties. If you’re a driver or even a passenger in a motor vehicle accident, you need to know how Nevada law 484E applies to you. Our Las Vegas car accident attorneys explain Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 484E.
Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.010 – Duty to Stop After Personal Injury Accident
Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.010 requires all drivers in a motor vehicle accident causing personal injury or death to stop at the scene of the accident. Of course, when an accident occurs, it’s not always immediately obvious if there are injuries, so it’s always important to stop your vehicle at the scene of the crash to ensure that you comply with Nevada law 484E.010. When a driver stops after an injury accident, they must stay at the scene of the accident until they comply with the requirements of Nevada law 484E.030 (discussed later in this guide). A driver may not obstruct traffic more than necessary.
A violation of Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.010 is a category B felony. The maximum penalties are a minimum of two years and a maximum of 20 years in prison. The potential fines range from $2,000 to $5,000 on top of legal fees. When a driver leaves the scene of an accident, the state may charge a separate count for each person who suffers bodily injury or death in the accident.
Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.020 – Duty to Stop After Property Damage Accident
Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.020 requires drivers to stop at the scene of any accident causing damage to a vehicle or other property. The driver must stop in a way that moves their vehicle out of the flow of traffic as much as possible. A driver who is required to stop under Nevada law 484E.020 must stay at the scene until they comply with the requirements of Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.030. Failing to stop and take the proper steps after a property damage accident is a misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in jail and six points added to your Nevada driver’s license.
Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.030 – Legal Obligation for Drivers in Personal Injury and Property Damage Accidents
Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.030 applies to drivers who are in both personal injury accidents and property damage accidents. A driver must provide the other driver with the following personal information:
- Registration number of the vehicle
- Driver’s license (may only exhibit to the other driver)
The driver must give the same information to the police, and they must hand their license to the police if asked. If no police officer is present, the driver must report the accident to the police or the Nevada Highway Patrol. In addition to these requirements, each driver has a legal responsibility to make arrangements for medical treatment if any person might be hurt.
Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.040 and Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.050 – Duty Upon Damaging Unattended Vehicle or Other Property
Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.040 places legal obligations on a driver who hits an unattended vehicle or other property. Nevada law 484E.040 requires the driver to stop and locate the owner or attach the required information in a secure place on the vehicle. If they attach information to the vehicle, they must include their name and address as well as the information for the owner of the vehicle. In addition, Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.050 requires a driver who hits an unattended vehicle or other property to immediately notify the Nevada Highway Patrol or the nearest police department. If the driver is physically incapable of giving notice to the police, another occupant of the vehicle must notify the police that the accident occurred.
Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.080 – Failure to File Accident Report – False Accident Report
Under Nevada law 484E.080, failure to file an accident report (without bodily injury) or filing a false report is a misdemeanor. A report is false if the person making it knows or has reason to believe that the information in it is false. Willful failure to file a report, filing a false report, or otherwise failing to comply with Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 484E may result in a driver’s license suspension of up to one year.
Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.100 – Garage or Repair Shop to Keep Records
Nevada law requires an auto body shop to keep records of repairs for any vehicle that looks like it has been involved in a crash. Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.100 says that the manager of the shop must keep records for two years. The records must include the registration for the vehicle, the vehicle identification number, the amount of damage, and the name and address of the person who requests the repairs.
Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.110 – Police to Make Accident Report
Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.110 requires a police officer to prepare an accident report whenever they investigate an accident. They must forward the report to the Department of Public Safety within 10 days of the investigation. The Department of Public Safety keeps a central repository of accident reports. A police officer must make a report any time they investigate an injury accident or any accident with apparent damage of $750 or more.
Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.120 -Accident Report Forms
Under Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.120, the Department of Public Safety prepares accident report forms. Reports must be made on these forms. A report must contain all of the required information. Nevada Revised Statutes 484E.130 requires the Department of Public safety to keep and publish accident statistics.
Contact Our Nevada Car Accident Injury Attorneys
If you’re the victim of a hit and run, contact our Nevada hit and run attorneys. Even though the offender may face criminal charges, you still have important rights. Our legal team can ensure that your rights are protected in civil proceedings. Call us today to talk about your case.
 NRS Chapter 484E
 NRS 484E.010
 PENALTIES FOR CATEGORY B FELONIES UNDER NEVADA REVISED STATUTES (NRS). (2018, February). Retrieved 2 December 2019, from https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Research/Publications/FactSheets/CrimeCharts/Catb.pdf.
 NRS 484E.020
 NRS 484E.030
 NRS 484E.040
 NRS 484E.050
 NRS 484E.080
 NRS 484E.100
 NRS 484E.110
 NRS 484E.120
 NRS 484E.130
This webpage is not intended to be an advertisement or solicitation. The hiring of a lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely upon advertisements. Material contained in our website is for general information only and does not constitute legal advice or solicitation of legal services.
Transmission of information from this site is not intended to create, and its receipt does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship between Adam S. Kutner and the user of this site. In the event that any information on this web site does not conform fully with regulations in any jurisdiction, this law firm will not accept representation based on that information.