Personal Injury Attorneys » Nevada Law Resources » Nevada Revised Statutes 11.190 – Statute of Limitations

Nevada Revised Statutes 11.190 is the Nevada statute of limitations. The statute of limitations is the time limit that a person has to bring a lawsuit against another party. Regardless of the strength of the case, the statute of limitations is a time limit for filing a legal claim. Nevada law 11.190 creates time limits for a variety of civil cases, including car accidents and other types of personal injuries. Here’s what you should know about NRS 11.190 from our team of experienced Las Vegas injury lawyers.

NRS 11.190 – Nevada Statute of Limitations

Nevada Revised Statutes 11.190 is the Nevada statute of limitations.[1] It sets time limits for filing a civil case based on the type of case. To comply with Nevada Revised Statutes 11.190, the plaintiff must file the case by the last day before the statute of limitations runs out. If a plaintiff files the lawsuit after the statute of limitations runs, the defendant can ask the court to dismiss the case without having a hearing on the merits.


    Home Visits Are Available

    Call Now for Details

    Nevada Statute of Limitations in Civil Cases

    Here are the Nevada statute of limitations in civil cases by category:

    • Most personal injury cases – 2 years
    • Property damage – 3 years
    • Wrongful death – 2 years
    • Defamation – 2 years
    • Products liability – 4 years
    • False imprisonment- 2 years
    • Fraud – 3 years
    • Medical malpractice – 2 years (3 years even with the discovery rule)
    • Other professional malpractice 2 years (4 years even with the discovery rule)
    • Asbestos exposure – 1 year
    • Construction defects – 6 years
    • Breach of oral contract – 4 years
    • Breach of written contract – 6 years
    • Sheriff action or non-action in their official duty – 2 years
    • To recover seized property or taxes paid under protest – 1 year

    Nevada Revised Statutes 11.190 is the time limit that applies for civil actions other than for those affecting real property.

    Learn More about Pedestrian Fatalities Statistics in 2015

    Call (702) 382-0000 for a free consultation

    Nevada Statute of Limitations Discovery Rule

    The Nevada statute of limitations discovery rule tolls the statute of limitations when certain circumstances are present in the case. To toll the statute of limitations means that the clock is not running on the statute of limitations for a period of time. In some cases, a victim of a personal injury doesn’t know that they’re the victim of a personal injury. The injury may not be immediately known, or the person responsible may be taking steps to hide what happened.

    Under the discovery rule, the statute of limitations doesn’t run during the period before the victim discovered or should have discovered the injury. However, a person can’t be willfully blind to their injuries, either. It all depends on what a reasonable person should have known or been aware of at the time. The purpose of the discovery rule is to make sure the statute of limitations is fair to victims who may not be aware of what happened until a period of time after the injury occurs.

    Nevada Statute of Limitations and Minor Children

    When it comes to minor children and the Nevada statute of limitations, there are a few special rules that apply. First, generally, the statute of limitations is tolled until the child turns 18. However, in cases of medical malpractice, the child has until only one year after discovering the injury regardless of the child’s age. For a brain injury, the child has until they are ten years old, or the typical statute of limitations in medical malpractice cases applies for an older child.

    In the case of sterility, the child has two years after the injury to bring a legal claim. In a sexual abuse claim, the child has ten years after they turn 18 or 10 years from when the victim should have discovered the injury, whichever is later. For a case of child sexually abusive material, the time limit is when the victim turns 18 or when the court enters a verdict in a criminal case.

    Nevada Statute of Limitations and an out of State Defendant

    Nevada law says the statute of limitations tolls while the defendant is living out of state. The purpose of the law is to give the plaintiff a fair opportunity to serve the defendant with the legal paperwork. However, in the 1966 Nevada Supreme Court case Bank of Nevada v Friedman, the court said where the civil rules of legal procedure allow for service in-state at the defendant’s address, tolling of the statute of limitations does not apply.[2]

    The Supreme Court said that because civil court rules allow for alternate service when an out-of-state defendant maintains a residence in the state, tolling of the statute of limitations didn’t apply in the case. It’s important to be aware that multiple factors may impact how the statute of limitations applies in any case.

    Things to Know About the Statute of Limitations in Nevada

    There are a few things to be aware of when it comes to the statute of limitations. The first is to simply be aware that the statute of limitations exists. If you believe that you may have a legal claim, it’s important not to wait to begin to pursue it. It takes some time to draft effective legal pleadings. The more time that you have to investigate your claim and pursue it carefully, the easier the legal process is going to be.

    The second thing to know about the statute of limitations is that there are exceptions that might apply. Even if you think the statute of limitations may have run in your case, it’s important to speak with an experienced attorney about it. You may be surprised to learn that one of the various exceptions applies, and you can still pursue your case.

    The third thing to know is that even if the statute of limitations is fast approaching, you have to beat the deadline by only one day. Even if you file your case with the court at 4:59 p.m. on the last day of business before the deadline, you’ve beaten the statute of limitations. Although it’s best to start early, it’s possible to pursue your claim until the very last day of the time limit. Once you get your case filed on time, you have as long as it takes for the case to process through the courts.

    Contact Our Injury Attorneys in Las Vegas, NV

    Have you been injured? Are you wondering about your legal claim? Do you have questions about the statute of limitations? Call our Nevada civil attorneys today.

    Infographic Nevada Statute of Limitations In Civil Cases

    Share this Image On Your Site

    [1] NRS 11.190

    [2] Bank of Nevada v. Friedman, 82 Nev. 417

    Adam S. Kutner is a top 100 trial lawyer with 32 years’ experience and expertise that will benefit you

    Call us at (702) 382-0000 anytime to schedule a free consultation. We will work to get you the maximum settlement as quickly as possible so you can move forward on your healing journey.


      Home visits are available

      Call now for details
      Adam S. Kutner - Las Vegas Car Accident Lawyer
      Adam S. Kutner

      With more than 32 years of experience fighting for victims of personal injury in the Las Vegas Valley, attorney Adam S. Kutner knows his way around the Nevada court system and how to get clients their settlement promptly and trouble-free.